The Indie Scenes


So, it has been a long time
since I wrote my last post. One year, 3 months and 28 days to be precise. Firstly, I am very sorry for the long gap and honestly, I missed penning down my thoughts very much. But then I had a lot going on I guess. There were good times and bad, I laughed and I cried, lost and I found, committed some silly mistakes and then some not so silly ones, travelled, met a lot of new people and made some dear friends – basically lived thoroughly.

But this journey cannot be deemed complete without the music I experienced! For the last one year, I have listened to and experienced a lot of brilliant music, come across some amazing talent both international and local. And, I discovered and loved very much our local music scene – the purely independent, original, sometimes intense, non-film genres & layers of music produced right here. There is so much talent to explore that seems to be getting only better and, am I glad! In today’s post, I’d like to share with you my Top 5 most favourite artists/groups from this very scenario.

#1 Coshish:

I can easily say, they are my most favourite band ever. Coshish is an incredible Hindi progressive rock band from Mumbai. They have gained a lot of popularity in the recent past, both internationally and in India and still basking in the glory of the ‘Freedom Award for the best Rock band of 2014’ and a few more forthcoming nominations. They are dear friends but even better musicians. They make music they believe in which makes it as good as it is. Besides the detailed and intricate music that goes in, their songs are soulful and every song has a strong message that their fans are able to embrace and connect with. What I like a lot about them is that inspite of being swamped by crazy fans and followers; they are superbly grounded and very tight, as a band. I have always enjoyed watching them live and only wish they do it a lot more! To connect with the audience and make them fall in love with Coshish comes very naturally to this band.

I can write a whole post about them and their brilliant piece of music, their album, Firdous, which I think you should definitely check out, but for now I will share with you my favourite track from the album for more reasons than one, ‘Hum Hai Yahien’. Check it out and tell me what you think!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hfsD1YgX9k8

http://www.mixrad.io/in/en/products/coshish/firdous/51837499/

#2 Samved

This Indian-classical electronic fusion band is to watch out for.  When a bunch of happy, good hearted, talented souls come together, the enthralling music that comes out is Samved. I absolutely adore Ritvik and K.K, they are the producers of the band and one of the best people I’ve met yet, then there is the very talented, Zeeshan Khan, the vocalist, Sangeet Mishra who plays the Sarangi beautifully and incredible percussionist, Kirti Das – they make Samved. Their album, Rlung Ta, is a pleasure to listen to and each song has its own unique essence. In all, Samved is a definite must watch live and a must listen to band.

The key song from the album, ‘Kama Unit’ which won the Best Fusion Folk Freedom Award, is not just a beautiful rendition but the video is one of its kind and a visual treat! Check it out!

http://www.mixrad.io/in/en/products/samved/rlung-ta/66772533/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cVrZj3FEuuI

#3 Dhruv Visvanath

This guy is a one man musical army! And superbly adorable also 🙂 He has been listed as one of the top ‘30 Great Guitarists under 30’ by the magazine, ‘Acoustic Guitar’ last year and he is just 22! A brilliant performer, he makes music that is soulful and melodious and being a big fan of the acoustic guitar sound myself, to watch him play his guitar, “Catherine” is such a pleasure. He’s already going places, quite literally – He just got back from a performance in Thailand and on his way for another performance! And I guess that exactly how it should be with this multi-talented music man. He has created a lot of amazing original music from which, the one I’ve shared, ‘Father’ is my favourite. He’s not on MixRadio, yet. I will get him on board soon. Till then, check him out and like they say, Subscribe!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-mVlc77De68

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZRWNL5Atmx7FLElr5Qjmlw

#4 Shraddha Sharma

This rising star is not just beautiful in appearance but also has a sweet voice and soul. The new age, social media discovery, this little diva has come a long way, from making videos and putting them out there to releasing her own album, ‘Raastey’  last year! She has thousands and thousands of fans following her loyally. She will be touching the skies, she’s surely on her way. To me she will always be, the beautiful girl, with innocent eyes, a sweet voice and a guitar, singing into the mic! i’ve liked a lot of the covers she’s sung but I’d like you to check out her original song, ‘Raastey’ from her debut album of the same name today.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rw-c5x_ZalQ

http://www.mixrad.io/in/en/products/shraddha-sharma/raastey/64235841/

#5 Sanjeev T

I haven’t had the privilege to actually watch him perform live except when he played with A. R. Rahman for film Rockstar’s music launch concert, but I’ve listened to a lot of his music since last year. He is an integral part of Rahman’s troupe, a very talented guitarist. He is also an amazing singer and there was a time when I was listening to his album, ‘Epic Shit’ on repeat. I also made it to his Studio/Café, Springr Café, a beautiful, cozy, rustic place, in Fort Kochi hoping to see him there but I was a little out of luck. Probably I’ll be fortunate the next time! I like his version of a very famous Malayalam folk song, “Chekele” (love the video) but I think I like his rendition of Bob Marley’s, ‘Is this Love’ a little more. He’s sung it so well. Also, having a massive crush makes it a bit special, no? Here it is!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ieFS0db0Y0

http://www.mixrad.io/in/en/products/sanjeev-t/epic-shit/54508474/

There are so many more artists and bands, absolute talents that I’ve had to the privilege to listen to or even better, watch live last year. I had only heard of Karsh Kale but watching him perform at the NH7 in 2013 got me completely falling for him and his beautiful music. Then there was Nucleya – he is a gorgeous livewire and throws his energy to his audience. You cannot stand still when he is spinning his music! There is another brilliant DJ I have recently discovered, DJ Amit Makwana, he goes by the name, Echoes. He plays house music and his sets are very intense, yet very easy to listen to, your feet immediately start tapping to his rhythm. I would definitely like to listen to more!

There are many more acts I can go on and on about but then I guess have to stop for now 🙂 So, until next time and I promise it will be sooner than you’d think!

Yours Truly,

A*MusicTramp*

Leave a comment